Skip to content

Recipe #14- Brown Sugar Pound Cake

October 10, 2009

OK, so I need to start out by saying one thing, I don’t like cake– at all.  Jeff loves pound cake, so I thought I would make this one for him and Martha has it in the book and so I was going to make it at some point, right?  That being said, what in the world is with this recipe??  This made almost twice as much as Martha said it would!!  It was like I had pound cake coming out of my ears, it was never-ending.  I made something to be nice and look what happens?  Why can’t this happen with chocolate chip cookies or something like that???  OK, now that I got that out of my system, the cake– because of the brown sugar it’s not really very pretty and I decided to try baking it in a regular non-stick baking pan and in a silicone baking pan (since I certainly had enough batter, right) and there were DRASTICALLY different outcomes.  The silicone seemed to work a lot better and certainly came out of the pans better than the normal non-stick.

The brown batter, which only becomes a more lovely shade of brown when you cook it.

The brown batter, which only becomes a more lovely shade of brown when you cook it.

Looks lovely now, doesn't it.  Just wait...here's the before.

Looks lovely now, doesn't it. Just wait...here's the before.

Here is the ridiculous after-- oh, this is after I sep. all the cakes from being one giant "mini-loaf"....can't you tell???

Here is the ridiculous after-- oh, this is after I sep. all the cakes from being one giant "mini-loaf"....can't you tell???

OK, here are the two kinds- in the back is the regular non-stick and in the front is the silicone that just popped right out of the pan.

OK, here are the two kinds- in the back is the regular non-stick and in the front is the silicone that just popped right out of the pan.

So, I’m told that these actually tasted good– I couldn’t tell from the bite I took– but I won’t make them again.  They were impossible to get out of the non-stick pans even with though I sprayed them with cooking spray and followed the recipe to the letter.  So, while I don’t like to say anything disparaging against Martha, I have to say that I wouldn’t recommend this recipe to anyone.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jeff permalink
    October 11, 2009 1:09 am

    Have to agree with this review for the most part. It is hard to screw up a pound cake and brown sugar is never a bad addition to anything. However, these were the equivalent of the MTV video awards – even though you forget they ever exist, you love the concept, but after a few hours you wonder what all the hype was about.

    Martha, where’s the freaking icing? A little molasses cinnamon glaze would have made these money. T can’t say it, but I expect more from you.

Leave a Reply

