Skip to content

Recipe # 13- Breton Biscuits

October 10, 2009

So, I wanted to make these because they were really pretty in the book and I knew they would be a pain and I know I need to get some of the more “painful” one’s out of the way at some point.  So, I figured that these would be good– hard, but not too hard.  Tedious, but not too tedious.  So, off I went to make Breton Biscuits.

Mix of butter, sugar etc-- these are essentially butter cookies

Mix of butter, sugar etc-- these are essentially butter cookies

You pat the dough (on well floured surface) into discs, chill them for a LONG time and then make them into cookies.

You pat the dough (on well floured surface) into discs, chill them for a LONG time and then make them into cookies.

Roll out the dough, again well floured on parchment paper.  Then you freeze it for 15 minutes before you can cut out the cookies.

Roll out the dough, again well floured on parchment paper. Then you freeze it for 15 minutes before you can cut out the cookies.

Cut out the cookies, egg wash the cookies.  Wait five minutes, egg wash the cookies again and then score the cookies.  Then bake and rotate halfway through.

Cut out the cookies, egg wash the cookies. Wait five minutes, egg wash the cookies again and then score the cookies. Then bake and rotate halfway through.

Finished cookies!  Beautiful!!

Finished cookies! Beautiful!!

So, all in all, beautiful cookies, a LOT of work and very time consuming– I managed to make another recipe while these were being prepped!  Would I make them again?  Maybe, if I had something that I wanted a pretty cookie or an impressive dessert.  They were good cookies, don’t get me wrong, I just don’t know that they were worth all the trouble that I had to go through to make them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

