Skip to content

Recipe #12- Raspberry Jam Crumb Bars

October 10, 2009

First, I apologize for not updating sooner, I was in California for a week and before we left I just didn’t have a chance to add these three.  So, here goes.  These were really good.  A little labor intensive, but they make a lot and if you don’t mind something that takes time then these are definitely something you should try!

Ground almonds, flour etc

Ground almonds, flour etc

There are ground almonds in the crust/topping– it’s the same thing– and I think that was the trick.  The ground almonds add a little bit of crunch, but not too much since they are ground, but they are really buttery by nature.

Finished dough

Finished dough

This is the dough before you press it into the pan– LOVE how that is done, just wait!

Rolling the dough into the pan-- Wine and baking, two of my favorite things!

Rolling the dough into the pan-- Wine and baking, two of my favorite things!

It doesn’t get much better– when you are done rolling the dough into the pan you can chill the wine and have a glass with your crumb bar!!

Once I was done rolling it in the pan-- it does look pretty good if I do say so myself!

Once I was done rolling it in the pan-- it does look pretty good if I do say so myself!

You par-bake the crust, spread with your choice of jam, I obviously used raspberry, and then top with the crumb topping.

You par-bake the crust, spread with your choice of jam, I obviously used raspberry, and then top with the crumb topping.

With the crumb topping--this is the same as the crust.  I think that mine was too fine, but it was still OK.  The next time I make it I will make bigger crumbs.

With the crumb topping--this is the same as the crust. I think that mine was too fine, but it was still OK. The next time I make it I will make bigger crumbs.

Finished product!  It took A LOT longer to cook than Martha said it would, but we'll see what happens the next time I make them-- and I will make them again!

Finished product! It took A LOT longer to cook than Martha said it would, but we'll see what happens the next time I make them-- and I will make them again!

One for me, one for Jeff!

One for me, one for Jeff!

So, all in all, Martha does it again.  These were easy to make, but a little time consuming.  They took longer to cook, so I was a little worried, but when I took them to work they were a big hit.  If I didn’t have a whole book to get through I would make them again soon!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

