Skip to content

Recipe #10- Cherry-Streusel Coffee Cake

September 14, 2009

So, Jeff loves cherries and it was his birthday, so I decided to make this for him.  I have to be honest, I haven’t tried the cake.  Yes, I have tried the streusel, but no, I haven’t tried the cake.  Jeff and his co-worker’s tell me that it’s very good, though.  The topping is very good- that I can say.

So, I was a little worried at first-- it wasn't getting "light and fluffy" in 3 minutes.  It took a while longer, but eventually we got there.

So, I was a little worried at first-- it wasn't getting "light and fluffy" in 3 minutes. It took a while longer, but eventually we got there.

It was a little odd because you don’t just beat the butter and the sugar at first, but hey, I’m doing this the way Martha tells me to.

Half the batter (well, I put a little less than half) with the cherries on top

Half the batter (well, I put a little less than half) with the cherries on top

No cherries near the edge or they will evidently burn or stick to the edge…who knew!?

Oops!  I put it in the oven like this at first- TOTALLY forgot the streusal for the first 3 minutes!!

Oops! I put it in the oven like this at first- TOTALLY forgot the streusal for the first 3 minutes!!

Out of the oven!

Out of the oven!

Yeah, I didn’t think about what a pain it would be to get this out of the pan and then flip it right-side-up again!

With the glaze on it.  Sorry it's out of focus, I was in a hurry :-)

With the glaze on it. Sorry it's out of focus, I was in a hurry 🙂

Since I didn’t try it I can’t say too much about it, but I can say this– it wasn’t hard to make and I think it could be made with other fruit– raspberries, blueberries, a mix of berries, whatever.  I’m thinking I may try that some time soon, but for right now I think I have enough baking on my hands!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeff permalink
    September 15, 2009 10:28 am

    Yes, I can attest to how good this was. The cake was very moist and it had just the right amount of sweetness to go perfectly with coffee. By the way, whoever decided dessert (cake, donuts, ice cream, etc.) was appropriate for breakfast deserves a nobel prize. You could definitely do other fruit, but cherries rule so why mess with it?

    In my office, half the cake was rendered into a pile of crumbs about as fast as one of those gross time lapse nature videos of scavengers eating a dead frog and leaving nothing but bones. Ummm…yeah, great mental picture when talking about food. Just trust me, it was good.

    • Tiernen permalink*
      September 15, 2009 11:35 am

      People here seem to be enjoying it, as well. I think I’m going to try making this with raspberries at some point, although, I really hate making streusel!

Leave a Reply

